Updated COVID-19 guidance for visiting our sales centres. Find out more.
[{"DocumentName":"The Castings, Ravenscraig","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-castings-ravenscraig","Address":"Meadowhead Road, Ravenscraig, ML2 7UT"},{"DocumentName":"Baxterfield, Hill of Beath","DocumentUrlPath":"/baxterfield-hill-of-beath","Address":"Torbeith Gardens, Hill of Beath, Fife, KY4 8DX"},{"DocumentName":"Bucknall Grange, Stoke on Trent","DocumentUrlPath":"/bucknall-grange-stoke-on-trent","Address":"Eaves Lane, Bucknall, Stoke on Trent, ST2 8JY"},{"DocumentName":"Mill Brow, Speke","DocumentUrlPath":"/mill-brow-speke","Address":"Central Avenue, Speke, Liverpool, L24 0TL"},{"DocumentName":"The Woodlands, Skelmersdale","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-woodlands-skelmersdale","Address":"The Woodlands, Skelmersdale, Lancashire, WN8 6QJ"},{"DocumentName":"Woodford Grange, Winsford","DocumentUrlPath":"/woodford-grange-winsford","Address":"Woodford Grange, Woodford Lane, Winsford, CW7 4EH"},{"DocumentName":"Cottonfields, Atherton","DocumentUrlPath":"/cottonfields-atherton","Address":"Gibfield Park Avenue, Atherton, M46 0SU"},{"DocumentName":"Lyndon Park, Great Harwood","DocumentUrlPath":"/lyndon-park-great-harwood","Address":"Harwood Lane, Great Harwood, BB6 7TB"},{"DocumentName":"Riverbank View at Charlestown, Salford","DocumentUrlPath":"/riverbank-view-at-charlestown-salford","Address":"Littleton Road, Salford, M6 6HX"},{"DocumentName":"Willow Park, Middleton","DocumentUrlPath":"/willow-park-middleton","Address":"Borrowdale Road, Middleton, Manchester, M24 5GG"},{"DocumentName":"Hampton Green, Coxhoe","DocumentUrlPath":"/hampton-green-coxhoe","Address":"Off St Marys Terrace, Coxhoe, County Durham, DH6 4JB"},{"DocumentName":"Byron Mews, Seaham","DocumentUrlPath":"/byron-mews-seaham","Address":"Off Heathway, Seaham, County Durham, SR7 7UX"},{"DocumentName":"Alexandra Gardens, Hull","DocumentUrlPath":"/alexandra-gardens-hull","Address":"Southcoates Lane, Hull, HU9 3UA"},{"DocumentName":"Amy Johnson, Hull","DocumentUrlPath":"/amy-johnson-hull","Address":"Hawthorn Avenue, Hull, HU3 5PY"},{"DocumentName":"Kingfields Park, Hull","DocumentUrlPath":"/kingfields-park-hull","Address":"Kesteven Way, Hull, HU7 3HJ"},{"DocumentName":"Capella, Scarborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/capella-scarborough","Address":"Off Westway, Scarborough, YO11 3ED"},{"DocumentName":"Ebor Chase, Malton, North Yorkshire","DocumentUrlPath":"/ebor-chase-norton","Address":"Langton Road, Malton, North Yorkshire, YO17 9PU"},{"DocumentName":"The Fell, Durham","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-fell-gibside","Address":"Chester-le-Street, Co. Durham, DH2 2TT"},{"DocumentName":"Willow Heights, Thurnscoe","DocumentUrlPath":"/willow-heights-thurnscoe","Address":"School Street, Thurnscoe, South Yorkshire, S63 0AW"},{"DocumentName":"Skylarks Grange, Doncaster","DocumentUrlPath":"/skylarks-grange-doncaster","Address":"Long Lands Lane, Doncaster, DN5 7XB"},{"DocumentName":"High Farm, Normanby","DocumentUrlPath":"/high-farm-normanby","Address":"Off Trunk Road, Normanby, Middlesbrough, TS6 0AA"},{"DocumentName":"The Springs, Doncaster","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-springs-doncaster","Address":"Campsall Road, Askern, Doncaster, DN6 0BT"},{"DocumentName":"Broomview, Edinburgh","DocumentUrlPath":"/broomview-edinburgh","Address":"Broomhouse Road, Edinburgh, EH11 3TP"},{"DocumentName":"Affinity, Leeds","DocumentUrlPath":"/affinity-leeds","Address":"South Parkway, Leeds, LS14 6ER"},{"DocumentName":"Aurora, Castleford","DocumentUrlPath":"/aurora-castleford","Address":"Premier Way, Castleford, WF10 5XR"},{"DocumentName":"Fusion, Leeds","DocumentUrlPath":"/fusion-leeds","Address":"Wykebeck Mount, Leeds, LS9 0HN"},{"DocumentName":"Elm Tree Park, Wakefield","DocumentUrlPath":"/elm-tree-park-wakefield","Address":"Milton Road, Wakefield, WF2 8AB"},{"DocumentName":"Heron's Reach, Bradford","DocumentUrlPath":"/herons-reach-bradford","Address":"Allerton Lane, Bradford, BD15 8HB"},{"DocumentName":"Timeless, Leeds","DocumentUrlPath":"/timeless-leeds","Address":"York Road, Leeds, LS14 6UH"},{"DocumentName":"Woodlands View, Bradford","DocumentUrlPath":"/woodlands-view-bradford","Address":"Stanley Road, Bradford, BD2 1AS"},{"DocumentName":"Roman Fields, Peterborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/phase-2-at-roman-fields-peterborough","Address":"Manor Drive, Peterborough, PE4 7EB"},{"DocumentName":"The Scholars at Academics, Peterborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-scholars-peterborough","Address":"Poplar Avenue, Peterborough, PE1 4QF"},{"DocumentName":"Chase Farm, Gedling","DocumentUrlPath":"/chase-farm-gedling","Address":"Arnold Lane, Gedling, Nottingham, NG4 4HF"},{"DocumentName":"Hedgerows, Bolsover","DocumentUrlPath":"/hedgerows-bolsover","Address":"Mooracre Lane, Bolsover, S44 6ER"},{"DocumentName":"Meadow View, Shirebrook","DocumentUrlPath":"/meadow-view-shirebrook","Address":"Meadow Lane, Shirebrook, NG20 8RY"},{"DocumentName":"The Parade, Bridgwater","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-parade-bridgwater","Address":"Bristol Road, Bridgwater, Somerset, TA6 4BP"},{"DocumentName":"Spirit Quarters, Coventry","DocumentUrlPath":"/spirit-quarters-phase-4-coventry","Address":"Milverton Road, Coventry, CV2 1GS"},{"DocumentName":"The Paddocks, Lightmoor Village","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-paddocks-telford","Address":"Lightmoor Village, Telford, TF4 3FQ"},{"DocumentName":"Central Park, Darlington","DocumentUrlPath":"/central-park-darlington","Address":"Haughton Road, Darlington, DL1 1DR"},{"DocumentName":"Elder Gardens, Newton Aycliffe","DocumentUrlPath":"/elder-gardens-newton-aycliffe","Address":"Off Middridge Road, Newton Aycliffe, County Durham, DL5 7BF"},{"DocumentName":"Lyme Gardens Phase 2, Stoke On Trent","DocumentUrlPath":"/lyme-gardens-phase-2-stoke-on-trent","Address":"Wellington Road, Stoke on Trent, Staffordshire, ST1 3QH"},{"DocumentName":"NorthBridge, Glasgow","DocumentUrlPath":"/northbridge","Address":"Pinkston Road, Glasgow, G4 0DD"},{"DocumentName":"Dominion, Doncaster","DocumentUrlPath":"/dominion","Address":"Woodfield Way, Doncaster, DN4 8FE"},{"DocumentName":"Suthers Court Phase 3","DocumentUrlPath":"/suthers-court-phase-3","Address":"Suthers Street, Oldham, Manchester , OL9 7EQ"},{"DocumentName":"Jessop Park, Bristol","DocumentUrlPath":"/jessop-park-bristol","Address":"William Jessop Way, Hartcliffe, Bristol, BS13 0RL"},{"DocumentName":"Oswald Place, Cheadle","DocumentUrlPath":"/oswald-place-cheadle","Address":"Ashbourne Road, Cheadle, ST10 1SA"},{"DocumentName":"Gynsill Gate, Anstey","DocumentUrlPath":"/gynsill-gate-anstey","Address":"Gynsill Lane, Anstey, Leicestershire , LE7 7AH"},{"DocumentName":"Coatsbrae, Paisley","DocumentUrlPath":"/coatsbrae-paisley","Address":"Barskiven Road, Paisley, PA1 2AB"},{"DocumentName":"Primrose Lodge, Goscote","DocumentUrlPath":"/primrose-lodge-goscote","Address":"Goscote Lane, Walsall, WS3 1RS"},{"DocumentName":"Vision, Bradford","DocumentUrlPath":"/vision-bradford","Address":"Harrogate Road, Bradford, BD2 3HP"},{"DocumentName":"Canterbury Park, Liverpool","DocumentUrlPath":"/canterbury-park-liverpool","Address":"Princess Drive , Huyton, Liverpool, L14 9NQ"},{"DocumentName":"The Docklands, Birkenhead","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-docklands-birkenhead","Address":"Stanley Road, Birkenhead , CH41 7BG"},{"DocumentName":"Foxlow Fields, Buxton","DocumentUrlPath":"/foxlow-fields-buxton","Address":"Ashbourne Road, Buxton, SK17 9RZ"},{"DocumentName":"Waterside Leicester","DocumentUrlPath":"/waterside-leicester","Address":"Frog Island, Leicester, LE3 5BY"},{"DocumentName":"Evolve, Wakefield","DocumentUrlPath":"/evolve-wakefield","Address":"Cross Street, Hemsworth, Wakefield, WF9 4QP"},{"DocumentName":"Brearley Forge, Sheffield","DocumentUrlPath":"/brearley-forge-sheffield","Address":"Adrian Crescent, Sheffield, S5 8DL"},{"DocumentName":"The Sycamores, Stockton-on-Tees","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-sycamores","Address":"Off Bath Lane, Stockton-on-Tees, TS18 2DX"},{"DocumentName":"Liberty Glade, Houghton-le-Spring","DocumentUrlPath":"/liberty-glade","Address":"Off Blackthorn Way, Houghton le Spring, DH4 6JW"},{"DocumentName":"The Rise, Newcastle Upon Tyne","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-rise","Address":"Off Whitehouse Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE15 6EP"},{"DocumentName":"High View, Blaydon","DocumentUrlPath":"/high-view-blaydon","Address":"Off Elm Road, Blaydon-on-Tyne, NE21 5AW"},{"DocumentName":"Belgrave Place, Minster-on-Sea","DocumentUrlPath":"/belgrave-place-minster-on-sea","Address":"Belgrave Road, Minster-on-Sea, ME12 3EB"},{"DocumentName":"City's Reach, Hull","DocumentUrlPath":"/citys-reach-hull","Address":"Grange Road, Hull, HU9 4LQ"},{"DocumentName":"Riverbank View Phase 3, Salford","DocumentUrlPath":"/riverbank-view-phase-3-salford","Address":"Littleton Road, Salford, M6 6HX"},{"DocumentName":"Kestrel Gardens, Barnsley","DocumentUrlPath":"/Kestrel-Gardens","Address":"Off Carlton Road, Barnsley, S71 2AY"},{"DocumentName":"Millfields Park, Scarborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/millfields-park","Address":"Field Lane, Scalby, Scarborough, YO13 0QG"},{"DocumentName":"Cable Wharf, Northfleet","DocumentUrlPath":"/cable-wharf","Address":"Cable Wharf, Northfleet, DA11 9AA"},{"DocumentName":"Hoddings Meadow, Hodthorpe","DocumentUrlPath":"/Our-developments/Midlands-2/Hoddings-Meadow-Hodthorpe","Address":"Broad Lane, Hodthorpe, S80 4XD"},{"DocumentName":"Lyle Place, Bury St Edmunds","DocumentUrlPath":"/Lyle-Place-Bury-St-Edmunds","Address":"St Olaves Road, Bury St Edmunds, IP32 6RW"},{"DocumentName":"The Hawthorns, Hebburn","DocumentUrlPath":"/Our-developments/North-East/The-Hawthorns-Hebburn","Address":"Off Campbell Park Road, Hebburn, NE31 2SL"},{"DocumentName":"Exhall Gardens","DocumentUrlPath":"/Exhall-Gardens","Address":"School Lane, Exhall, CV79GE"},{"DocumentName":"Malthouse Place, Shobnall","DocumentUrlPath":"/Malthouse-Place-Shobnall","Address":"Shobnall Road, Burton-on-Trent, DE14 2AU"},{"DocumentName":"Aspire, Leeds","DocumentUrlPath":"/aspire-leeds","Address":"Swallow Crescent, Leeds, LS12 4RB"},{"DocumentName":"Horizon, Rastrick","DocumentUrlPath":"/horizon-rastrick","Address":"New Hey Road, Rastrick, HD6 3LP"},{"DocumentName":"Stallings Place, Kingswinford","DocumentUrlPath":"/Our-developments/Midlands-1/Stallings-Place-Kingswinford","Address":"Stallings Lane, Kingswinford, DY6 7UD"},{"DocumentName":"Warren Wood View, Gainsborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/Our-developments/Yorkshire-2/Warren-Wood-View-Gainsborough","Address":"Foxby Lane, Gainsborough, DN21 1PN"}]

The Cost of Buying a House

Buying a new home is one of the biggest investments you’ll make. As well as the initial deposit, there are a number of other costs involved in buying a house that you can expect to encounter on your home buying journey.

As with any big purchase, preparation and budgeting is key. To do that, you need a transparent view of the costs when buying a house. From the obvious big spends to some you may not have considered, here is a quick guide to the main costs involved to help you work out your home buying budget.

 

Upfront house buying costs

The upfront costs of buying a house make up your main spending during the move. These are costs that must be paid to ensure to process runs smoothly, so you need to be sure you have enough saved and put aside to cover them. Your upfront costs include:

 

Home Deposit

The first and perhaps more obvious cost of buying a home is your deposit. When buying a home, you don’t usually pay the full home cost upfront – instead, you pay a deposit to secure the property, and then a monthly mortgage to pay off the remaining costs.

Traditionally, most mortgage lenders asked for at least a 10% deposit. Now, through Help to Buy, the Government-backed home buying scheme, you can move into your dream Keepmoat home with just a 5% deposit – making home buying more affordable. You can find full details of the Help to Buy options available here.

 

Stamp Duty

Stamp duty is a government tax when buying a home, applicable to houses that cost £125,001 or more. Stamp duty can, however, vary depending on personal circumstances and whether you’ve bought a home before – first-time buyers can expect no stamp duty on the first £300,000 spent on a property.

Great news for prospective home buyers – you will now pay zero stamp duty on any home that costs up to £500,000 in England until 31 March 2021.

 

Valuation fee

All mortgage lenders will want to value your new home for themselves before they lend you the money – even on our homes which offer fantastic value for money. Each lender is different and some offer a free valuation service, whereas others will charge – on average you should expect to pay from £150-£200.

 

Solicitor’s fees

When moving to a new house you need a solicitor to carry out the legal work of buying (and possibly selling) your home – this is called conveyancing. Your solicitor will handle all contracts, provide legal advice and carry out local council searches, work with the Land Registry and transfer the funds to pay for your property. Costs can vary depending on whether you’re buying and selling or just buying, but budget for between £500-£1,500 and don’t forget to add on 20% for VAT.

 

Surveyor’s fee

Particularly if the home you’re buying is not a new build, it is important you get the property checked over by a surveyor before you make your purchase. An independent surveyor can highlight any problems with the property that may need to be fixed before you buy or things that may bring about additional costs once you’ve moved in.

There are different levels of survey you can opt for – cheaper options cost from £200 and cover the basic condition of your home, while full structural surveys can be anything from £600+. While it could be tempting to pay less upfront, having a thorough survey carried out before you move can save you money on repairs in the long term.

 

Electronic transfer fee

Many mortgage providers charge a fee for transferring your mortgage money from themselves to the solicitor. Be sure to check but the usual cost is between £40 and £50.

 

Home insurance

It’s important not to forget to budget for home insurance. Having adequate cover is one of the conditions your mortgage lender will set out before lending you the money, but this doesn’t mean you have to buy insurance from them. Shop around and don’t forget you may be able to get a better deal when you combine your building and content insurance into one policy.

 

House buying costs: Moving day

Once you’ve paid all your upfront costs and almost completed the home buying process, it’s time to prepare for moving day. Moving day itself is a day that turns up additional costs. Make sure you’ve budgeted for:

 

Packing

From boxes to bubble wrap, the costs of packing up your belongings can quickly add up. You can save money during this process by putting aside boxes in the build-up to the move or asking around in case anyone you know has any spare.

 

Removal costs

How much or how little you spend on removals is up to you. A professional removal service definitely makes moving in day run smoother but can cost anything from £300 to £2,000, so it’s worth shopping around and comparing what you get for your money.

Hiring a van and doing it yourself is the cheaper option if you don’t mind a bit of hard work. Remember to recruit family and friends to help if you can and check our moving day guide for more tips.

 

Cleaning costs

If you’re leaving a rented property, it is likely written into your contract that it must be cleaned. If rental properties are not left properly cleaned, it is possible you will face additional charges from your landlord or letting agent or may lose this cost from your deposit. For this reason, many choose to shop around and pay for a professional cleaner themselves. If you’re leaving a rented property, ensure you’re prepared for any additional costs such as this.

 

 

Costs when buying a house: Ongoing costs

So, you’ve done the hard part. Congratulations on buying your new home! Your initial house buying costs should all be covered at this point, however, the ongoing costs of owning and maintaining a home still apply. Once you’ve bought your home, here are some of the monthly costs you can expect to budget for.

 

Mortgage costs

You’ve paid a deposit towards your home which enables the buying process; the remaining cost of the home will need to be paid each month via your mortgage. The cost of your mortgage will be arranged earlier in the home buying process when you speak to your mortgage advisor. The price of your mortgage repayment will, of course, depend on the value of your home, as well as how much deposit you’ve already paid.

 

Home maintenance and repairs

The first year of owning a property is nearly always the most expensive – the average repair bill for a new homeowner is upwards of £5,000. You should have already had a survey carried out on your property which will have highlighted any repairs that need carrying out. If you’re moving into an older property, you may also be planning structural or interior renovations, which should have been budgeted for when choosing your house.

Of course, if you’re moving into a new build home, you won’t have repairs to worry about. However, furniture and decorating costs can also add up quickly, so consider what you need and want to buy once you’ve moved in, and ensure you’ve put enough money aside.

 

Running costs

As with any property, once you’ve bought your new home you will be responsible for utilities and tax. Council tax costs differ based on where your property is located and which council tax valuation band it falls in – it is worth checking this information when you are house hunting. Utilities such as water can also sometimes differ based on location, so be sure to ask the sellers how utilities work in the property and how much you can expect to be paying each month.

 

Leaseholder’s costs

If you’re buying a property, you will either be buying on a freehold or leasehold basis. If your home is leasehold, this means you are required to pay ground rent and service charges on the property – this is paid to whoever owns the freehold.

Ground rent is usually £50-£100 a year, while services charges can be up to £1,000+ a year. This price changes from property to property so may be much more, or much less. Make sure you’re aware of these additional charges when you’re deciding whether a property is right for you.

 

Costs if you’re also selling your home

If you’re selling your current home as well as buying, there are additional fees you can expect to pay. You will be responsible for your share of the legal fees, but also need to consider:

 

Estate agent fees

If you’ve got a home to sell, there’ll be estate agent fees to pay – these usually range from 1-3% of the sale price plus 20% for VAT.

We can help make selling your home quick and save you a fortune too with our Easymove scheme. We’ll take care of everything from arranging valuations and negotiating the sale to recommending solicitors and mortgage advisers. And when your house is sold, we’ll pay the estate agent fees in full. So that’s one less cost to think about.

 

 

 

*All the costs mentioned are for illustrated purposes and can vary, please speak to an Independent Financial Advisor if you require financial advice.

Yours with only
a 5% deposit

The Government-backed Help to Buy equity loan scheme has helped many people move into their new Keepmoat home with just a 5% deposit and more affordable mortgage payments.

Find out more
Back to top