Covid-19 guidance for visiting our sales offices. Find out more.
[{"DocumentName":"The Castings, Ravenscraig","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-castings-ravenscraig","Address":"Meadowhead Road, Ravenscraig, ML2 7UT"},{"DocumentName":"Baxterfield, Hill of Beath","DocumentUrlPath":"/baxterfield-hill-of-beath","Address":"Torbeith Gardens, Hill of Beath, Fife, KY4 8DX"},{"DocumentName":"Bucknall Grange, Stoke on Trent","DocumentUrlPath":"/bucknall-grange-stoke-on-trent","Address":"Eaves Lane, Bucknall, Stoke on Trent, ST2 8JY"},{"DocumentName":"Mill Brow, Speke","DocumentUrlPath":"/mill-brow-speke","Address":"Central Avenue, Speke, Liverpool, L24 0TL"},{"DocumentName":"The Parks Phase 5, Anfield","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-parks-phase-5-anfield","Address":"Glaisher Street, Anfield, Liverpool, L5 1AB"},{"DocumentName":"The Woodlands, Skelmersdale","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-woodlands-skelmersdale","Address":"The Woodlands, Skelmersdale, Lancashire, WN8 6QJ"},{"DocumentName":"Woodford Grange, Winsford","DocumentUrlPath":"/woodford-grange-winsford","Address":"Woodford Grange, Woodford Lane, Winsford, CW7 4EH"},{"DocumentName":"Cottonfields, Atherton","DocumentUrlPath":"/cottonfields-atherton","Address":"Gibfield Park Avenue, Atherton, M46 0SU"},{"DocumentName":"Lyndon Park, Great Harwood","DocumentUrlPath":"/lyndon-park-great-harwood","Address":"Harwood Lane, Great Harwood, BB6 7TB"},{"DocumentName":"Riverbank View at Charlestown, Salford","DocumentUrlPath":"/riverbank-view-at-charlestown-salford","Address":"Littleton Road, Salford, M6 6HX"},{"DocumentName":"Willow Park, Middleton","DocumentUrlPath":"/willow-park-middleton","Address":"Borrowdale Road, Middleton, Manchester, M24 5GG"},{"DocumentName":"Hampton Green, Coxhoe","DocumentUrlPath":"/hampton-green-coxhoe","Address":"Off St Marys Terrace, Coxhoe, County Durham, DH6 4JB"},{"DocumentName":"Byron Mews, Seaham","DocumentUrlPath":"/byron-mews-seaham","Address":"Off Heathway, Seaham, County Durham, SR7 7UX"},{"DocumentName":"Alexandra Gardens, Hull","DocumentUrlPath":"/alexandra-gardens-hull","Address":"Southcoates Lane, Hull, HU9 3UA"},{"DocumentName":"Amy Johnson, Hull","DocumentUrlPath":"/amy-johnson-hull","Address":"Hawthorn Avenue, Hull, HU3 5PY"},{"DocumentName":"Kingfields Park, Hull","DocumentUrlPath":"/kingfields-park-hull","Address":"Kesteven Way, Hull, HU7 3HJ"},{"DocumentName":"Capella, Scarborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/capella-scarborough","Address":"Off Westway, Scarborough, YO11 3ED"},{"DocumentName":"Ebor Chase, Malton, North Yorkshire","DocumentUrlPath":"/ebor-chase-norton","Address":"Langton Road, Malton, North Yorkshire, YO17 9PU"},{"DocumentName":"The Fell, Durham","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-fell-gibside","Address":"Chester-le-Street, Co. Durham, DH2 2TT"},{"DocumentName":"Willow Heights, Thurnscoe","DocumentUrlPath":"/willow-heights-thurnscoe","Address":"School Street, Thurnscoe, South Yorkshire, S63 0AW"},{"DocumentName":"Skylarks Grange, Doncaster","DocumentUrlPath":"/skylarks-grange-doncaster","Address":"Long Lands Lane, Doncaster, DN5 7XB"},{"DocumentName":"High Farm, Normanby","DocumentUrlPath":"/high-farm-normanby","Address":"Off Trunk Road, Normanby, Middlesbrough, TS6 0AA"},{"DocumentName":"The Springs, Doncaster","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-springs-doncaster","Address":"Campsall Road, Askern, Doncaster, DN6 0BT"},{"DocumentName":"Earlybraes, Barlanark","DocumentUrlPath":"/earlybraes-barlanark","Address":"Hallhill Road, Barlanark, Glasgow, G33 4QJ"},{"DocumentName":"Broomview, Edinburgh","DocumentUrlPath":"/broomview-edinburgh","Address":"Broomhouse Road, Edinburgh, EH11 3TP"},{"DocumentName":"Affinity, Leeds","DocumentUrlPath":"/affinity-leeds","Address":"South Parkway, Leeds, LS14 6ER"},{"DocumentName":"Aurora, Castleford","DocumentUrlPath":"/aurora-castleford","Address":"Premier Way, Castleford, WF10 5XR"},{"DocumentName":"Fusion, Leeds","DocumentUrlPath":"/fusion-leeds","Address":"Wykebeck Mount, Leeds, LS9 0HN"},{"DocumentName":"Elm Tree Park, Wakefield","DocumentUrlPath":"/elm-tree-park-wakefield","Address":"Milton Road, Wakefield, WF2 8AB"},{"DocumentName":"Heron's Reach, Bradford","DocumentUrlPath":"/herons-reach-bradford","Address":"Allerton Lane, Bradford, BD15 8HB"},{"DocumentName":"Timeless, Leeds","DocumentUrlPath":"/timeless-leeds","Address":"York Road, Leeds, LS14 6UH"},{"DocumentName":"Woodlands View, Bradford","DocumentUrlPath":"/woodlands-view-bradford","Address":"Stanley Road, Bradford, BD2 1AS"},{"DocumentName":"Academics, Peterborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/academics-peterborough","Address":"Poplar Avenue, Peterborough, PE1 4QF"},{"DocumentName":"Roman Fields, Peterborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/phase-2-at-roman-fields-peterborough","Address":"Manor Drive, Peterborough, PE4 7EB"},{"DocumentName":"The Scholars at Academics, Peterborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-scholars-peterborough","Address":"Poplar Avenue, Peterborough, PE1 4QF"},{"DocumentName":"Chase Farm, Gedling","DocumentUrlPath":"/chase-farm-gedling","Address":"Arnold Lane, Gedling, Nottingham, NG4 4HF"},{"DocumentName":"Hedgerows, Bolsover","DocumentUrlPath":"/hedgerows-bolsover","Address":"Mooracre Lane, Bolsover, S44 6ER"},{"DocumentName":"Meadow View, Shirebrook","DocumentUrlPath":"/meadow-view-shirebrook","Address":"Meadow Lane, Shirebrook, NG20 8RY"},{"DocumentName":"The Parade, Bridgwater","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-parade-bridgwater","Address":"Bristol Road, Bridgwater, Somerset, TA6 4BP"},{"DocumentName":"Spirit Quarters, Coventry","DocumentUrlPath":"/spirit-quarters-phase-4-coventry","Address":"Milverton Road, Coventry, CV2 1GS"},{"DocumentName":"The Paddocks, Lightmoor Village","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-paddocks-telford","Address":"Lightmoor Village, Telford, TF4 3FQ"},{"DocumentName":"Central Park, Darlington","DocumentUrlPath":"/central-park-darlington","Address":"Haughton Road, Darlington, DL1 1DR"},{"DocumentName":"Elder Gardens, Newton Aycliffe","DocumentUrlPath":"/elder-gardens-newton-aycliffe","Address":"Off Middridge Road, Newton Aycliffe, County Durham, DL5 7EL"},{"DocumentName":"Lyme Gardens Phase 2, Stoke On Trent","DocumentUrlPath":"/lyme-gardens-phase-2-stoke-on-trent","Address":"Commercial Road, Stoke on Trent, Staffordshire, ST1 3QP"},{"DocumentName":"The Mallards, Swanley","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-mallards-swanley","Address":"St. Mary's Road, Swanley, Kent, BR8 7BA"},{"DocumentName":"NorthBridge, Glasgow","DocumentUrlPath":"/northbridge","Address":"Pinkston Road, Glasgow, G4 0DD"},{"DocumentName":"Dominion, Doncaster","DocumentUrlPath":"/dominion","Address":"Woodfield Way, Doncaster, DN4 8FE"},{"DocumentName":"Suthers Court Phase 3","DocumentUrlPath":"/suthers-court-phase-3","Address":"Suthers Street, Oldham, Manchester , OL9 7EQ"},{"DocumentName":"Jessop Park, Bristol","DocumentUrlPath":"/jessop-park-bristol","Address":"William Jessop Way, Hartcliffe, Bristol, BS13 0RL"},{"DocumentName":"Oswald Place, Cheadle","DocumentUrlPath":"/oswald-place-cheadle","Address":"Ashbourne Road, Cheadle, ST10 1SA"},{"DocumentName":"Gynsill Gate, Anstey","DocumentUrlPath":"/gynsill-gate-anstey","Address":"Gynsill Lane, Anstey, Leicestershire , LE7 7AH"},{"DocumentName":"Coatsbrae, Paisley","DocumentUrlPath":"/coatsbrae-paisley","Address":"Barskiven Road, Paisley, PA1 2AB"},{"DocumentName":"Primrose Lodge, Goscote","DocumentUrlPath":"/primrose-lodge-goscote","Address":"Goscote Lane, Walsall, WS3 1RS"},{"DocumentName":"Vision, Bradford","DocumentUrlPath":"/vision-bradford","Address":"Harrogate Road, Bradford, BD2 3HP"},{"DocumentName":"Canterbury Park, Liverpool","DocumentUrlPath":"/canterbury-park-liverpool","Address":"Princess Drive , Huyton, Liverpool, L14 9NQ"},{"DocumentName":"The Docklands, Birkenhead","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-docklands-birkenhead","Address":"Stanley Road, Birkenhead , CH41 7BG"},{"DocumentName":"Foxlow Fields, Buxton","DocumentUrlPath":"/foxlow-fields-buxton","Address":"Ashbourne Road, Buxton, SK17 9RZ"},{"DocumentName":"Waterside Leicester","DocumentUrlPath":"/waterside-leicester","Address":"Frog Island, Leicester, LE3 5BY"},{"DocumentName":"Evolve, Wakefield","DocumentUrlPath":"/evolve-wakefield","Address":"Cross Street, Hemsworth, Wakefield, WF9 4QP"},{"DocumentName":"Brearley Forge, Sheffield","DocumentUrlPath":"/brearley-forge-sheffield","Address":"Adrian Crescent, Sheffield, S5 8DL"},{"DocumentName":"The Sycamores, Stockton-on-Tees","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-sycamores","Address":"Off Bath Lane, Stockton-on-Tees, TS18 2DX"},{"DocumentName":"Liberty Glade, Houghton-le-Spring","DocumentUrlPath":"/liberty-glade","Address":"Off Blackthorn Way, Houghton le Spring, DH4 6JW"},{"DocumentName":"The Rise, Newcastle Upon Tyne","DocumentUrlPath":"/the-rise","Address":"Off Whitehouse Road, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE15 6EP"},{"DocumentName":"High View, Blaydon","DocumentUrlPath":"/high-view-blaydon","Address":"Off Elm Road, Blaydon-on-Tyne, NE21 5AW"},{"DocumentName":"Belgrave Place, Minster-on-Sea","DocumentUrlPath":"/belgrave-place-minster-on-sea","Address":"Belgrave Road, Minster-on-Sea, ME12 3EB"},{"DocumentName":"City's Reach, Hull","DocumentUrlPath":"/citys-reach-hull","Address":"Grange Road, Hull, HU9 4LQ"},{"DocumentName":"Riverbank View Phase 3, Salford","DocumentUrlPath":"/riverbank-view-phase-3-salford","Address":"Littleton Road, Salford, M6 6HX"},{"DocumentName":"Kestrel Gardens","DocumentUrlPath":"/Kestrel-Gardens","Address":"Carlton Road, Barnsley, S71 2AY"},{"DocumentName":"Millfields Park, Scarborough","DocumentUrlPath":"/millfields-park","Address":"Field Lane, Scalby, Scarborough, YO13 0QG"},{"DocumentName":"Cable Wharf, Northfleet","DocumentUrlPath":"/cable-wharf","Address":"Cable Wharf, Northfleet, DA11 9AA"},{"DocumentName":"Hoddings Meadow, Hodthorpe","DocumentUrlPath":"/Our-developments/Midlands-2/Hoddings-Meadow-Hodthorpe","Address":"Broad Lane, Hodthorpe, S80 4XD"},{"DocumentName":"Lyle Place","DocumentUrlPath":"/Lyle-Place-Bury-St-Edmunds","Address":"St Olaves Road, Bury St Edmunds, IP32 6RW"},{"DocumentName":"The Hawthorns, Hebburn","DocumentUrlPath":"/Our-developments/North-East/The-Hawthorns-Hebburn","Address":"Off Campbell Park Road, Hebburn, NE31 2SL"},{"DocumentName":"Exhall Gardens","DocumentUrlPath":"/Exhall-Gardens","Address":"School Lane, Exhall, CV79GE"},{"DocumentName":"Malthouse Place, Shobnall","DocumentUrlPath":"/Malthouse-Place-Shobnall","Address":"Shobnall Road, Burton-on-Trent, DE14 2AU"},{"DocumentName":"Aspire, Leeds","DocumentUrlPath":"/aspire-leeds","Address":"Swallow Crescent, Leeds, LS12 4RB"},{"DocumentName":"Horizon, Rastrick","DocumentUrlPath":"/horizon-rastrick","Address":"New Hey Road, Rastrick, HD6 3LP"},{"DocumentName":"Stallings Place, Kingswinford","DocumentUrlPath":"/Our-developments/Midlands-1/Stallings-Place-Kingswinford","Address":"Stallings Lane, Kingswinford, DY6 7UD"}]

Help to Buy England and Wales

Help to Buy makes your dream home a reality. The Government-backed Help to Buy Equity Loan scheme means buying your home is more affordable and getting on the property ladder is more achievable than ever.

The Help to Buy incentive has helped thousands of our customers move into their new Keepmoat home with just a 5% deposit and more affordable mortgage payments.

So, how does Help to Buy work, and who is eligible? Here’s Help to Buy, explained.

How Does Help to Buy Work?

With the Help to Buy scheme, you can receive a Government-backed equity loan of up to 20% of the cost of your newly built home. This means you can buy your home with as little as a 5% deposit, with the remaining 75% covered by your mortgage.

 

Help to Buy makes buying a home a much more achievable reality across England and Wales, as:

  • You only need a 5% minimum deposit for your new home
  • Your Help to Buy Equity Loan can cover up to 20% of the value of your new home
  • Up to 75% of the remaining costs are covered by your mortgage
  • The Help to Buy Equity Loan is interest-free for up to 5 years
  • Once you’ve secured your new home, your equity loan can be repaid over 25 years

If you’re living in Scotland, you’ll be covered by the Help to Buy (Scotland) scheme, which also allows you to purchase your new home with as little as a 5% deposit. To find out more, visit our Help to Buy Scotland page.

Who is Eligible for Help to Buy?

Currently, the Help to Buy Equity Loan is available for first-time buyers, helping you move into your first home quicker than you thought possible. The scheme is also available for existing homeowners, allowing you to move up the property ladder with as little as a 5% minimum deposit on your new home.

The scheme allows for an equity loan of up to 20%, with this extending to 40% in London to reflect higher property prices. There are maximum home costs in place; you can purchase a home through the Help to Buy scheme of up to £600,000 in England and £300,000 in Wales.

Help to buy in England is changing

The current Help to Buy scheme is coming to an end in March 2021 and is due to be replaced by a new scheme in April 2021 that is tailored towards first-time buyers only, with adjustments including regional caps, rather than national caps. This means the total price you can spend on your property differs depending on the region you’re buying in. Find out more about the Help to Buy: Equity Loan scheme 2021-2023 here.

Whether you’re an existing homeowner or first-time buyer, you could still be eligible to use the current Help to Buy scheme, if you complete on your new Keepmoat home by 31 March 2021.

Help to Buy Calculator

Want to know if the Help to Buy equity loan scheme could make your dream home a reality? Try our handy Help to Buy calculator.

Our Help to Buy calculator will give you a quick indication of whether you're likely to be able to buy your new home using the Help to Buy scheme, based on your income, property price and location.

To use our handy Help to Buy calculator Click here to create an account and see if Help to Buy could work for you.

*Please note the calculation is for illustration purposes only.

 

Help to Buy Scheme: Pros and Cons

As with any loan, there are a number of things to consider when deciding whether Help to Buy is right for you.

Pros of Help to Buy

If you want to buy a new home but are struggling with your deposit, the Help to Buy scheme could make a big difference in getting you on the property ladder.

  • You can buy a home with a 5% deposit - While you still need a deposit to purchase a home through Help to Buy, this is set at a much lower rate. You could be moving into your new home with as little as a 5% deposit, which is lower than most other mortgage options out there.
  • Your equity loan is interest-free for five years - The Help to Buy Equity Loan you receive from the government carries no interest for the first five years. Often, this period is the most expensive for homeowners, as additional purchases and home decoration costs can quickly add up. This five-year interest-free period helps lift some of the strain.
  • You could enjoy more affordable overall mortgage rates - As you are borrowing less money overall, the likelihood of qualifying for your mortgage is higher and you are likely to enjoy much more competitive interest rates.

Limitations of Help to Buy

While Help to Buy can help you step onto the property ladder, loans always come with certain limitations that you should consider when moving forwards with the scheme.

  • After five years, your loan will become increasingly expensive - If you take out an equity loan as part of the Help to Buy scheme, this is interest-free for up to five years. However, once these five years are up, you’ll be charged 1.75% on the outstanding amount as interest. This fee will increase each year by RPI plus 1%.
  • Your loan repayment is not fixed - As your Help to Buy Equity Loan is based on percentages, it is not a fixed price loan. This means when you come to sell or pay back the loan it can increase or decrease as the market value of your home changes. So, if you received a loan for 20% of the value when you bought the home, you’ll have to pay back 20% of the value when you sell meaning if your home has increased in value, you’ll have to pay back a little more than you borrowed.

If you’ve already paid back your equity loan, there’s nothing else to pay back to the scheme.

Help to Buy Explained: FAQs

Can you pay back your equity loan early?

While you can use the full five years to pay back your Help to Buy Equity Loan interest-free, you can also choose at any time to make additional part or full repayments. If you choose to make a voluntary repayment, this must be 10% of your home’s current market value. Every time you want to make a repayment, an independent valuer must assess your property.

Can you put down more than a 5% deposit?

Yes. The Help to Buy 5% deposit is the minimum percentage you can put down, but you can always choose to put down a higher deposit if this works for you. Putting down more than 5% deposit will mean taking out a mortgage at less than 75%. In these instances, it’s always worth speaking to your financial or mortgage advisor to see what will work the best for you and your circumstances.

What happens if you want to remortgage your Help to Buy home?

It is possible to remortgage your Help to Buy Home – you simply remortgage the standard mortgage that you took out at the same time as the equity loan. You will then either need to keep the Help to Buy Equity Loan and continue paying (with accrued interest after five years) or repay the loan. In these cases, you can also usually expect to pay admin fees.

What happens if I sell my Help to Buy home?

When you sell your Help to Buy home you will repay your equity loan at the same time. So if you initially purchased with a 75% mortgage and a 5% cash deposit and have made no other repayments you will repay 20% of the value of your home at the time you sell. An independent valuer will decide what your home is worth and your home needs to be sold on the open market.

Getting Started with Your Help to Buy Keepmoat Home

Whether you’re a first-time buyer or looking to move up the property ladder, the Help to Buy scheme offers a great way to find your dream home at a more competitive rate for you. If you’re looking to buy a property through the Help to Buy scheme, our guides on choosing your home and reserving your home tell you everything you need to know to find your perfect new Keepmoat home.


*Help to Buy scheme on selected plots and developments only, subject to terms and conditions. Cannot be used with any other offer. Help to Buy purchasers are required to fund at least 80% of the purchase price by means of a conventional mortgage, savings and any deposit where required. Eligible applicants will be offered an equity loan of up to 20% of the market price, interest free for the first five years. At the start of year six a fee of 1.75% is payable on the equity loan, which rises annually by RPI inflation plus 1%. The equity loan is held as a second charge on the property. Terms and conditions apply and full details will be provided on request. Please note Help to Buy charge £1 a month from outset as a management charge.
 

 

Register your interest in Help to Buy:

Marketing communications

To be the first to hear about new developments and releases, special offers and exclusive events, please select your preferred contact methods below. We will treat your data with respect and you can unsubscribe at any time. You can read our privacy notice here.

Contact preferences:


Enter security code:
 Security code
Back to top